The Yellow Shirt

Something has been on my mind all day. My morning (after the normal morning rush) started with a yellow shirt presentation. Yellow shirts are a reward offered by my organization at work for fitness. Not body building competions, by any means, but just for having a body age younger than your calendar age, per the body assessments at our company gym. It’s some complicated formula of strength, flexibility, body fat, and healtg habits. I’m 18, my body says. Sure doesn’t feel it, some days!

The yellow shirts are really nice, and I would normally insert a picture to prove, but since I wear a small, I don’t have mine yet. I can’t wait to get it!

The presentation (very informal) was led by my boss’s boss’s boss’s boss. We went around the room, sharing our wellness attitudes, and one woman spoke of losing 50 pounds and how she loves spring so she can get her daughter to walk outside with her.

And that was when the GM commended her for not only losing the weight, but encouraging others, because even when it’s not our intent, we can be such powerful role models and motivators for other people. We can be a mentor, a workout buddy, an accountability for snacks and lazy days. And that’s probably our greatest benefit of wellness and being healthy – being able to inspire and assist others.

He responded cheerfully to each of our stories with genuine enthusiasm, and never sounded cliche. It was awesome. Lol it really makes me want to go workout now. Will you workout with me?

Be a Yellow Shirt. Be healthy… for you, for your family; for today, for tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “The Yellow Shirt

  1. Congrats on your yellow shirt . . . I’m proud of you. And even though I’m still working on my follow through, you’re still my inspiration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

