What’s For Dinner?

As if The Secret wasn’t thought-provoking enough, today’s adventure.is the documentary Forks Over Knives. It’s worth brownie points at work, and I really am intersted to hear the science they want to showcase. It’s only 20 minutes in, mostly establishing their subjects as experts in animal and human nutition, and of underlining (twice, in a fat Sharpie) the state of American health, and yet they’ve used the phrase ‘whole foods, plant-based diet’ at least four times.

I grew up on a farm. I attended an agricultural university, and married a farmer. I’m bred for this lifestyle, and insults to the industry cause a knee-jerk bad taste in my mouth. But I’m also aware of the fact that the typical American diet is hard on the human body. I find it amusing, though, that every expert is DEFINITELY RIGHT about the worst villian in our diet.

I’m no scientist. I haven’t done my own studies. I’m just remarking on the fact that FOK says animal fat is the problem. Paleo diets say bread and carbs are the problem. Some say it’s high fructose corn syrup. And all have ‘scientific evidence’ to prove it.

So who will win? Obviously the current American diet is a result of marketing. Who says the next one won’t be as well?

But back to my title – does anyone else out there feel as weird about enjoying a greasy burger after hearing about heart attacks and bypass surgeries? Maybe I’ll stick with a salad, just for tonight, until I get my appetite back. 😉

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

