Run Recap 9.8.15

Happy Labor Day!

Last night’s run was rough in the humidity, and it was still 95 degrees after we finished. Today, since I took an extra day of vacation, I wanted to run early. No sun at 8 am, but it was still crazy humid. I think it rained last night.

Goal workout: half mile warmup, then 8 sprints of 2 minutes at race pace (9:10 for me), with 5 minutes “recovery” (not defined).

image

True workout: the “warmup” was 9:20, so a 9:10 didn’t seem like a challenge. The first sprint felt good at 8:00, so I decided stay under 8 for the runs. When it came time to recover, I was staying around 9:30 so I picked 10 to force myself to slow down. Each recovery included about a minute real walk (which my watch says is like 16 or 18 minute pace).

The second run was at 8:06, but the other seven runs were under 8 with no issues. The sun came out at the beginning of the third sprint, but only stayed for about 15 minutes. 5.9 miles on the watch plus another half mile walk home.

No jerks on the road today (except the punk gnats that want to fly up your nose! What is that?). Pre-run was half a cinnamon roll Quest bar and 10ish oz water. Ke$ha wins “most motivational”.

Make it a great week!

Leave a Reply

