Rest Day

Happy Patriot Day. Never forget.

I work two more Fridays in 2015. Coincidentally, Friday is my scheduled rest day. I’m still in bed currently. I’ll get up eventually, and then I’ll be on the go until bedtime. No rest for a farm wife once she gets going.

So, I *still* haven’t finished the five things I was supposed to do two weeks ago. I even had four and a half days off for Labor Day! Other things just come up, and I re-prioritize.

image

Five Things I’m Willing to Work For:

Inspiring other people. I know I have the strength inside me to do great things, and I don’t see anything wrong with doing things from time to time just to prove they can be done – both to myself and to those around me.

Returning the favor. Note: if you ever do anything nice for me, even if it’s standard cultural practice, I’m going to send it back tenfold. Buy my Arby’s, get an invite to a real dinner and drinks and dessert. If you share with me, I’m going to bust it until I have something to share with you.

Loving my family.  There are no farm kids yet, but maybe one day. Until then, I have a Better Half to love and learn about and support. We’ve been watching Home Free on Fox and it’s interesting to see the communication and interaction between the couples. I like to think we’d do well, because we each get up every day and look for ways to help and love, and over the years we’ve studied each other so much. Love is a choice and a verb, not just a feeling.

Investing now what will pay off later. I’m good at delayed gratification. I really am. I’m learning to be less impulsive and it shows each time I write out my food journal and I rack up “no sweets” days for the challenge at work. I have savings. I have tornado bags. I have plans and habits and beliefs now that will add so much to my life, one day when the time ia right.

The thrill of finishing. I start projects for a variety of reasons. Some are obligatory, since really ignite something inside me. With either, once I start, I usually can’t just give up. If I have 30 minutes or an hour left on a project when my time is up at work, I’m staying. When there is one more thing to finish at 11 pm, I’m staying. When the finish line is in sight, even if it’s a mile away still, I’m sprinting. DNF is not an option, even if it kills me. That’s why open to-do items stress me out so much.

Sore abs. Let’s be honest, I’m vain. In this season, I’m all about the running. The focus is on miles, not on strength training (though there’s still a little). It’s not as much ab as last summer’s PiYo, and I’m going to have to be okay with the soft fluff that comes with that. When the half is over, though, and I can go back to a steady routine, it’s on!

Happy weekend, y’all!

Leave a Reply

