Five Things for the New Year

Let’s be honest – I’m never going to be one of those bloggers who hits it big. I’m not going to write a blogging schedule and spend weeks on articles, I’m never going to hit the point I can monetize my readers (I think there are seven of you now), I don’t want to turn my life into a reality show. Young House Love got soooooo much flak because they Photoshopped an early baby belly out of a DIY project picture when they weren’t ready to announce her pregnancy. No thanks. I don’t even tell you my husband’s name most of the time, I really don’t want you passing judgment on me.

Wow. I digressed a little. All that to say, you get real me. I forget to post, even my Five Things Fridays. I write when I feel like it. And the time between a spark of an idea for a topic and hitting the publish button is usually about 20 minutes. I proofread for grammar as I go, and I skim through for the overall story arc as I go. I’m on my phone 99% of the time. You get cooler digressions and better hyperlinks when I’m on the computer. And you get my random thoughts, not a play by play of my life. You get the inner struggle of a farm wife with a city life, not necessarily proof of either.

image

Luckily, the inner struggle isn’t all bad. You can struggle over good things, two awesome opportunities for your time. And I do. Oh how I do. Each new year brings more of that, as I make new file folders and put away the old, as I dream of what could be.

Five Things I’m Most Looking Forward To in 2016
1. Work-life balance
80 hours in two weeks. That’s not really so much to commit to, and that leaves a fair amount of time for life. IF you go home at 9 hours, or 8, and get your other Fridays off, and leave the computer at home. I don’t like driving home at 9 pm. I don’t like cancelling workouts and runs. I have another week of vacation coming this year, and I have to learn to use it.

2. Keeping habits
I have the best of intentions. I have routines written down for everything. My life is perfect on paper. Something in me wants to rebel against plans, though, and that has to stop. I’m going to get to work on a consistent and earlier schedule (and stay on track there), keep up on paperwork, housework, and workouts, get past Matthew in my daily Bible reading, and take better care of myself with haircuts and my beloved pedicures and stuff like that. I’ve got to keep my wanderlust under control or 2016 will go like 2015 and its predecessors.

3. My Passion Planner.
It’s so pretty. Find them here. I heard about them on a YouTube video and went looking, found the free sample pages, followed the Instagram. I like it. Half of me craves structure (the other half of me wants to demolish all of it, but see above).

4. Cleaning out
I’m not a minimalist, by any means, but I’m tired of stuff smothering me. I don’t mind having a ton of stuff I use, and I like having a stock of canned food and toilet paper and stuff like that. But the pile of sweaters in my closet that I can’t get even see? The room of stuff his folks left behind? The shelves in the garage I can’t even reach? Let’s talk about these. Make room for what matters, and then have lots of that.

5. The mystery.
On the flip side of over-scheduling my life is the fact life will do what it pleases. There is a bigger plan, there is a Master hand at work, and even if you don’t believe in God, we’re all pawns subject to death, taxes, other people’s bad choices, the weather, and the horrific noises coming out of Nashville. I kinda wanna know what surprises are in store for me, for my family, for society. Election years have so much potential. I think that’s why we fight so hard to prove one candidate’s vision and ability to get there is better. I love surprises.

Here’s to 2016 – to the things I want, and to the things that will happen anyway!

Leave a Reply

